Industry news that matters to you.  Learn more

Aushon BioSystems Forms Scientific Advisory Board

Reading time: 3 – 4 minutes

Aushon BioSystems, Inc., a leading provider of advanced microarray products and laboratory services for biomarker discovery, development and analysis, announced today the formation of a Scientific Advisory Board consisting of internationally renowned physicians and scientists at the forefront of applying biomarker technology in clinical drug development.

The Aushon Scientific Advisory Board includes:

Johann de Bono, M.D., FRCP, MSc, Ph.D. Senior Lecturer and Honorary Consultant in Medical Oncology at the Royal Marsden Hospital and Institute of Cancer Research

Dr. de Bono is the leader of the Prostate Cancer Team and directs the clinical drug development Phase I trials program at the Royal Marsden Hospital with a particular interest in the rationally designed molecular targeted therapies and prostate cancer. Dr. de Bono has been involved in the development of over 50 novel agents over the last five years, many of which are now approved drugs. He is currently running over 20 early-stage clinical trials.

John Heymach, M.D., Ph.D. Associate Professor of Thoracic Head/Neck Medical Oncology and Cancer Biology at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

The overall goal of Dr. Heymach’s clinical, translational, and laboratory research is to advance the development of targeted agents, particularly angiogenesis inhibitors, for non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) and other solid tumors, by incorporating biomarkers into clinical trials to improve patient outcomes. Dr. Heymach is Director of the Thoracic Blood Biomarker laboratory at MD Anderson. He is a member of a number of editorial boards including Signaling and Clinical Lung Cancer, and has led a number of phase I and II trials of novel targeted therapies in lung cancer.

Gavin MacBeath, Ph.D. Senior Director and the Head of Translational Research. Merrimack Pharmaceuticals, Inc.; Co-founder, Merrimack Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Dr. MacBeath served on the faculty in the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology at Harvard University where he pioneered the development and use of protein microarray technology to better understand how proteins interconnect to control complex biological systems and how defects in these networks lead to human diseases, such as cancer. At Merrimack, Dr. MacBeath is responsible for leading the MM-121 research team and creating the company’s general strategy for predictive medicine. Dr. MacBeath continues to direct a research lab at Harvard Medical School in the Department of Systems Biology.

Gordon B. Mills, M.D., Ph.D. Wiess Distinguished University Chair in Cancer Medicine, Chair of the Department of Systems Biology in the Division of Cancer Medicine, and Co-head of the Kleberg Center for Molecular Markers of the University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center

Dr. Mills’ research focuses on the PI3K pathway, lysophospholipids, the genomics and genetics of women’s cancers, and identifying and characterizing a number of potential oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes. He holds more than 20 patents in novel technologies and molecular biomarkers, was the founding head of the M. D. Anderson Cancer Center Technology Review Committee, and has contributed more than 400 papers to Nature, Cell, Oncogene, Cancer Research and Clinical Cancer Research, among others.

“The establishment of our new Scientific Advisory Board with these visionary thought leaders is another significant milestone for Aushon,” says Pete Honkanen, President and CEO of Aushon BioSystems. “Not only will the SAB provide Aushon with the critical insights and strategic guidance essential to ensuring that our leading-edge multiplex immunoassay platform continues to meet today’s research needs, but they will also help us anticipate key future trends and market opportunities, including the use of multiplex protein biomarkers in companion diagnostics.”

Source: Aushon BioSystems